How do I Restore Files for Physical Servers and File Agents?

1. Log into https://portal.cloudbackuphub.com/

From the navigation pane, go to Protect > File servers. The list of servers will appear.

2. In the Servers area, under the Actions column, click the Action button in the row for the server you need to restore from, and then click Restore.

3. Expand the tree on the left and choose the content that you want to restore.

  • To restore the contents of the entire backup set or subclient, select the check box next to Name.
  • To restore the contents of a subclient, select the appropriate subclient. You can select multiple subclients at the same time.
  • To restore particular files, expand the folder and then select the files.
  • In the top-right corner of the page, a “Show latest backup” message indicates what backup data is being displayed. You can click the down arrow beside this message and select any of the following options:

a. Show latest backups: Only display data for the most recent backups.
b. Show backups as of a specific date: Only display data up to the date you specify.
c. Show backups for a date range: Only display data within the data range you specify.

Note

To show Deleted or Hidden items, click the button to the right of the Restore button and then select to show the desired items.

4. Click Restore to have the Restore options dialog box open.

PROCEED WITH CAUTION FOR THE FOLLOWING STEP

The default settings have you restoring data to the original folder!

Note

There is a “Download” option available. This will allow you to download the selected data directly through your web browser in a .ZIP file. Please note the following if you would like to use this method:

  • Please do not refresh or close your Browser window after you click Download.
  • The download will take a few minutes before it will be available to save through the browser depending on the size. Therefore, we only recommend using this method for small restores less then 1GB.

5. From the destination client list, choose the computer where you want to restore the files and folders.

  • Choose the restore location.
    – To restore to the original backup location, select the Restore to original folder check box.
    – To restore to a new location, clear the Restore to original folder check box and then in the Destination Path box, browse to or type the full path to the destination folder.
  • Optional: If the destination client does not have access to the UNC path provided in the Destination Path box, then in the Impersonate user area, enter the user name and password required to access the UNC path.
  • In order to overwrite the existing data, select the Unconditionally overwrite if it already exists check box.
  • Restore ACLs and Data is checked by default. This specifies that all data will be restored with its original access control lists (i.e., ACL) and therefore its original security attributes.
    • Restore “Data” Only – Specifies that the files will be restored without their original ACLs. Files and folders will inherit the permissions of their parent folder or drive.
    • Restore “ACLs” Only – Specifies that the backed up Access Control Lists (ACLs) will be applied to files that have been restored without their ACLs, or to the existing files at the restore destination. Clear this option to restore without ACLs and consequently the data assumes the ACLs of the parent directory.

6. Click Submit to run the restore job once all the desired restore options are selected.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux