Virtual Machines – How do I Restore Full Virtual Machines

1. Log into https://portal.cloudbackuphub.com/

From the navigation pane, go to Protect > Virtualization. The Virtual machines tab will appear.

2. Click the Virtual Machine name that needs restored. The Virtual Machines page will now appear. Click the desired Recovery point date and backup time. Once a time is selected, click Restore.

3. The Select restore type page will appear. Select Full virtual machine to restore one or more full virtual machines. The Restore page will now appear.

Note

When you initiate a restore operation for a specific VM from the VM groups page or from the Virtual machines page, you can choose to restore the Full virtual machine option or the Live Recovery option.

  • If “Live recovery” is selected as the restore type, the “Live recovery” option will be automatically turned on in the Recovery Options and cannot be disabled.
  • If “Full virtual machine” is selected as the restore type, the “Live recovery” option will be off by default in the Recovery Options but can still be used if needed.

PROCEED WITH CAUTION FOR THE FOLLOWING STEP

The default settings have you overwriting the existing Virtual Machine!

4. Configuring Restore Type:

  • In Place Restore will overwrite the existing Virtual Machine. Leave the option for “In Place” selected.
  • Out-of-Place Restore will create a new separate Virtual Machine for the restore. Please uncheck the “In Place” option.
  • Restore as: This is used to select a different Virtual Environment to restore the Virtual Machine too. (VMware vCenter, Microsoft Hyper-V, Azure Resource Manager)
  • Destination: This is used to select a different Hypervisor to restore too.
  • Access Node: This option can be left on the default selection. However, if needed you can select a specific VSA Proxy for the restore job. 
  • VM dispaly name: Type a new virtual machine name in the box. If an existing VM with the same name exists on the destination host and you do not select Overwrite VM’s in the next step if they already exist, the restore job will fail.
  • Destination host: To restore to a different host, click Browse and select the host. By default, the original host is shown as the destination host.
  • Datastore: To use a different data store for the restored VM and disks, select the new data store from the list.
  • Resource pool: To restore to a resource pool, select the destination from the list.
    Note: The Resource pool list is only displayed when you are restoring to a vCenter.
  • VM folder path: To restore to a folder, click Browse and select the destination folder.
Network Settings

The Network settings dialog box shows the source and destination networks for the VM being restored.

a. Expand Network Settings by clicking the arrow icon, then click the pencil icon to edit a network mapping, or Add to add a new mapping.

      • Source Network: Select the source network, or select Any Network to map all network connections for the source VM to a different network for the restored VM.
      • Destination Network: Select a network connection for the restored VM, or select No Connection to restore without a network connection.
      • Click OK to save changes.

b. Expand IP Address Settings by clicking the arrow icon, then select the Add option.

      • The Edit IP address settings or IP address settings dialog box appears. Specify address mappings as needed.
      • Click OK to save changes.

  • Power on VM’s after restore: Select this option to start the VM automatically after the restore completes.
  • Unconditionally overwrite if it already exists: Select this option to delete an existing virtual machine and replace it with the restored VM. (Use this option for an In Place Restore, otherwise leave this option turned off!)
  • Disk Provisioning: Use the default value (Original) to retain the provisioning method used at the time of backup. Select a value from the Disk Provisioning list to force a specific disk provisioning method: Thick Lazy Zero, Thin, or Thick Eager Zero.
  • Transport mode for VMware: Leave this option on the default “Auto”. (VMware Only)
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is commv-2.png
  • Restore virtual machine using live recovery (vMotion): Select this option to use the live recovery option.
Note

If you initiated the restore operation for a specific VM from the VM groups page or from the Virtual machines page, and then selected Live recovery on the Select restore type dialog box, this option is selected and cannot be cleared.

  • Redirect writes to datastore: (Optional) Select a datastore for redirect writes. The redirect writes datastore must be different from the destination datastore for the restored VM selected in step 4.
  • Delay migration: Delay the migration of the VM to the destination location for the specified time (0-12 hours). You can still use the VM when delaying the migration.
Note

While a Live Recovery restore is in progress, the Virtual Machine might be slow, but it will be up and running.

7. Click Submit to run the restore job once all the desired restore options are selected.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

WordPress Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux